Apple Cinnamon Cake.

Standard

image

 

A dear friend of mine in the States, posted this recipe on Facebook, and I just had to try it – with my usual adaptions to make it slightly less unhealthy!

The link my friend sent me was from a Facebook page called Welcome Home, https://www.facebook.com/WelcomeHomeFriends, and they got it from http://www.luicucina.com/2013/08/apple-cinnamon-white-cake.html       I hope that covers where it came from so let me tell you how to do it!!!

As usual, I have tried to change an American recipe using cups into one that I find easier to use, and so my measurements are in grams.      I’m sure if I used cups all the time I would get used to them, but I am never confident about if I have over or under packed the cup, so it works best for me to translate it!

75g brown sugar (don’t substitute this as you need the caramel effect)

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

150g granulated sugar (or sugar substitute)

110g butter (or low-fat alternative)

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsps vanilla extract

450g self-raising flour

120ml milk

2 apple, peeled and chopped (use common sense as to the size you use!)

Mix brown sugar and cinnamon together in a bowl and set aside.

Cream granulated sugar and butter together.

Beat in eggs, 1 at a time, mixing well to avoid the curdle.

Add vanilla extract.

Add flour and mix well.

Add milk, mixing until smooth.

Put half the batter into a prepared 2lb loaf tin.  Next add half the apples and half the brown sugar/ cinnamon mixture.

Pour in the remaining cake mix, apples, and cinnamon mix.

Gently swirl the mixture using your finger or the wrong end of a spoon.

Bake in the preheated oven at 180c for 30 to 40 minutes.

It is a moist cake so remember when you test if it’s cooked your skewer wont be totally dry.

 

It’s really easy to make.    M helped me this morning, and he especially like the idea of putting his finger in to swirl the flavours together!

I know I have said in the recipe to use a 2lb loaf time, and yet my picture shows a round cake, well that’s just because in M’s head, bread is square and cake starts round before becoming triangles!      It’s therefore much easier just to do all cakes round!

This cake has been enjoyed by everyone.   It is sweet but not overly so.      I have great problems getting either of my boys to eat fruit, but they both devoured this without a single complaint!      I do like a recipe where you can get them to eat something they might not usually want to!

Let me know if you try it!

 

5 responses »

  1. Yum! I love to bake with apples in the autumn – just did an apple pie on Friday. I’ve always been curious…how do you measure the grams of dry ingredients? A scale?

  2. Apple cakes are good in the autumn for all those bucketloads of apples we get in the countryside – people get so many off their trees they leave them out by the road.

Leave a comment