MacMillan Coffee Morning.

Standard

Friday was the day of the MacMillan Worlds Biggest Coffee Morning.

It is a charity event that happens every year, and raises money for a sadly over used charity that helps people and their loved ones suffering with cancer.        It has become a huge event and a lot of people get involved, either at work or in their own home.    This year the boys school even decided to observe the event, with children being allowed to dress down and wear something green – the charity colour, for a donation.    I think its great for kids to get involved with charity events, as long as they are used to educate them rather than them being seen as just an excuse not to wear uniform!

I decided it would be a nice idea to have a coffee morning.    I have had a couple in the past, Marie Curie, and Autism Awareness Day, and they have been great fun.       Somebody did say to me, that they thought is was a lovely thing to do, to have these mornings.   I was so embarrassed, as the truth is, I love doing them, as first baking is my thing, and its a great excuse to do it.      Secondly, they are a great excuse to sit down with friends and just natter.   So often a quick “good morning” as we pass in the playground is all we manage and the rest of our communication is done via Facebook.    Nothing though really beats a chinwag over coffee.     The last reason, is far more selfish, and I do feel a little guilty, especially having been told I’m doing a good thing, and that is that I do it to feel important.      Before I became a stay at home Mum, I used to work every hour under the sun, I managed a £1m turnover restaurant, and I think I was pretty good at my job – I am sure some of my staff might disagree!!!   I was both physically and mentally stimulated in my working environment.   Now I am by no means saying what I now do isn’t important – I do wonder if more parents were encouraged to stay at home for a while it might improve many things in society, but its a totally different thing.       When I gave up work to have the kids, Hubby and I talked about the future – as you do, at we decide that while things would be tight, I would stay at home until the kids were in school.        This all changed though when M got his diagnosis, and we had to start to rethink things, and it was cemented that I needed to be about, when D was diagnosed.       Amazing how life changed so quickly, but in a way it was lucky I was about when Old Person became dependant on me.        So, I am not being a good person, by doing these charity things, I am doing it to remember that there is a wider world outside by sometimes suffocating bubble, and if it is helping others in the process then that is a really positive side effect.

D was home at our last coffee morning.   He had been ill a couple of days before, and so the 48 hour rule meant he was home.   His best chum, was also at home, and so the two of them sat and played video games while the Mums gossiped.     They were horrified that I told their teacher what they had been doing that day, but she took it in good spirit because of the 48 hour rule, and they both returned to school the next day.      D however decided then and there that he would make sure he was home for the next one.      I told him it wasn’t going to happen, and when he started coughing as soon as I pulled out my cookery books to plan, I knew he was trying to pull a fast one.      The thing with D is that he can tell the most convincing lies, but to be a good liar you need to be able to keep the pretence going, and his honesty always gets the better of him, and he will tell the truth pretty easily.   I therefore asked him if he was ill or just wanted to be home Friday, and his response was hilarious when he asked how ill he needed to be to get the day off.      He resigned himself to the fact he wouldn’t be home, but made sure he understood what the charity did, for when he asked his friends if they could ask their Mums to come over after school to get cake.

At the last event, I had said come for a couple of hours, and it kind of went on all day, as we gossiped, so this time, I decided that I may as well just say anytime between school run and school run, and we would make pizzas for lunch.

The day before I basically locked myself in the kitchen and got on with it, leaving Hubby to tidy the living room.

I set the table, and I felt quite pleased with my achievements!

wpid-20150925_073506.jpg

D insisted my Dalek cake stand made an appearance.

I really enjoyed the day, with people in and out.     Some stayed all day, other just popped in, as they were on a coffee morning crawl!!     One Mum, who is part of our local additional needs group, and I know to hello, popped in for 10 minutes, and stayed for almost 3 hours!!     Hubby kept the pizzas flowing and we drank too much coffee and ate too much cake.    Everyone left with a box full of goodies to share (or not) with their families.      After school there was a steady stream of kids coming in with their coins to get a cake.      The boys delivered boxes of cakes to friends who were unable to attend.     It was a really good day.

When I opened the collection box, there was £130 raised.      That’s amazing from just having a fun day of gossiping and chilling.      One Mum had given me an envelope from her daughter – who is in Ms class, to put in the box, and she was donating some of her birthday money.     What an amazing little lady.    Thank you to everyone who came and donated.

We just need to decide now what excuse we can use for our next gathering!

3 responses »

  1. I LOVE the idea of a coffee morning. I’ve read about them before, but your details were so interesting. We don’t have them here, but it all sounds so friendly and cozy. I’m glad you wrote about it.

Leave a Reply

