Signal blind spot.

Standard

We have just returned from holiday, and it has been refreshing in so many ways.

We were in the Lake Districts, one of the most beautiful areas of the UK in my opinion.    It is however an area of the country that mobile signal on the network I am connected to is really bad – I think different networks seem to have problems in different parts of the country, as where we live many people complain about a different network.        When at home, I usually have a 4G signal, and if it dips to a 3G, then I think I am being hard done by.   On holiday, I was lucky if I got any sort of signal at all!!      We saw many people happily chatting on their phones so it must be just our network that isn’t good in this area!

Like many people, I spend far too much time on Facebook.    My excuse is many of my friends live at the other end of the country and so it is much easier to keep in touch with them this way, especially as I really dislike speaking on the phone – I can’t actually remember the last time I made a proper phone call!     I also use Twitter, but that is mostly for competitions, and catching up with celeb gossip!        I also have accounts with many other social media sites.    I suppose you could say I am a little needy in the fact I need to be in constant contact with people!   I love my social media!!!

This week has therefore been a little strange.    The first couple of day I was getting a little frustrated at not having a strong enough signal to connect, but after that, it became rather nice to only have contact with those I was actually with.     When we went to some places, I did have enough of a signal to do a quick status update, but I didn’t really both with anything else.

Hubby on the other hand was more than a little frustrated with the lack of signal as he spends a lot of time of the internet.    He likes to keep up with the news, and of course all the sports results.    He therefore went into the bar at the centre we were staying everyday to use their Wi-Fi, because he couldn’t survive without knowing what was going on in the cricket!      I just couldn’t be bothered.

It got me thinking as to how reliant we have become on our smart phones.      What did we do before we had them?    How did we survive?     Oh yes, we talked to people!        It is shocking to think about how quickly they have become quite an essential part of our every day lives.       Even my mother, who is 88 years old has a smart phone and tablet – even if they are hand me downs, and will often being “googlying” – she’s old so we allow her to call things by strange names, things she needs to know for a crossword or puzzle she is doing.       I do wonder what my Dad would have made of this technology, as someone who constantly had his head in a book, he would have made my Mum an internet widow I imagine!!!!

As soon as I got home, I did check my Facebook, Twitter, and all my emails.    I enjoyed a week without it, but I don’t know if I would want to go much longer!

See if you can cope a day without your phone, or the internet.    It might sound easy, but when it is available 24/7 I think it would be much harder than my forced time away.

Now to see what everyone is saying they are up to!

 

Leave a Reply

