Cookies

Standard

As you may remember, I have been dieting, all my life! I have always been a fatty, and I think I have tried every diet ever going. I think my weight has shaped a lot of my life, from the bullying at school leading to the vicious circle of comfort eating not helping the situation. As I got older, I made a life choice, that I either kept letting it control my life, or I accepted who I was, and therefore lived as me. The later choice gave me control over things, and I gained the attitude that if people don’t accept me for who I am, then it is their loss and not mine! I think this is why I get so upset at the level of bullying D get for his size, both from his peers and professionals that just assume he over eats, although one doctor does believe it may be genetic. I am very concerned that he doesn’t become obsessed by his size and let it control his life the way it has mine.

I suppose my biggest weakness, is biscuits. I love a cuppa and a biscuit. The more I try to stop this habit, the more I feel deprived and that’s when a biscuit becomes a packet of biscuits!

I am still trying to reduce my weight, as I want to live long enough to see my babies grow up. I have been following Weight Watchers on-line for a while, and I really enjoy it. It gives you the flexibility to eat food that is family friendly meals, that fit in with your life, and so you don’t feel like you are having to make several different meals for different people each day. The programme gives you a specific amount of points that you eat each day, and you also get an allowance for weekly treats. It is therefore flexible enough to allow for special occasions, and days out. The amount you can eat is actually quite a lot, and some days I don’t get near my points allowance!

By having this flexibility, means I can have myself a biscuit with my cuppa in the afternoon. As you know, I love baking, so am always trying new recipes, and turning ones I find, into healthier versions. There are a huge array of books published by Weight Watchers, and I have found many brilliant recipes from these. My present favourite recipe for biscuits, is one of theirs, and here it is.

Chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies.
45g butter
75g soft brown sugar
50g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
70g porridge oats
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
50g chocolate chips

Melt the butter, and add the sugar, warm until smooth.
Combine the flour, baking powder, and oats, then add the butter mix, and the egg.
Fold in the chocolate.
Make into 16 balls and bake at 180c for 12 minutes.

I exchanged the butter for low-fat alternative, and the sugar for fruit sugar substitute, so it makes it a little less bad for you.    The chocolate chips can be exchanged for raisins, or other dried fruit, and they are also great with a little ginger or cinnamon added – in fact it is a very flexible recipe!

The flavour of them is lovely, almost coconut. Being made with oats, they are a nice eat, and while they are good enough to keep eating, one is totally satisfying.   What’s even better, is the kids also love them, so definitely a win win recipe.

If I can eat some naughty, that isn’t too bad, then I feel I am not missing out, but when I stand on the scales at the end of the week, I feel I am still being a good girl!!!

Leave a Reply

