Roasted Tomato soup.

Standard

With my mouth being so sore recently, I have continued my quest for foods that are easy to eat.       It has meant that I have continued to experiment with soup.

I don’t think I will ever be a lover of soup, as to me it’s just like baby food, and it doesn’t matter how good it tastes, I am gagging within half a bowl.      I am however learning to understand that the flavours can be exciting.    Old person would live on soup if she was given the opportunity.    Over the years I have spent an absolute fortune of packet soups for her!      I have always made leftover soup – you can make soup out of any left overs with a little imagination and a few herbs.   A while back, I bought a soup maker – it looked like a liquidiser, but heated up.    While it worked it worked well, but I found it kept burning on the bottom, and when smoke started pouring out of it, I threw it out of the kitchen window – goodness knows what the neighbours must have thought!     I have therefore reverted to a pan on the hob for cooking and a liquidiser to mush it up.

Last week I made Pea and Herb soup -https://jas2jar.wordpress.com/2014/04/24/returning-to-healthy-eating/ , which was lovely – Hubby has asked me to make it again, and he had sneered at the idea of it when I first mentioned it!      I have therefore been inspired to continue on my quest to find a soup that I will eat/drink without the mental alarm bells going off!

Yesterday when I was in the supermarket, they had tomatoes on promotion, and so I bought up a few packets, with the intention of making some soup, after all tinned tomato soup is the one I will just about tolerate.     I searched through my pile of cook books – I actually have an over filled bookshelf in the kitchen with cookbooks, so it was quite a task!    I found various versoins of tomato soup but nothing that really grabbed me.     I then went to the Good Food Channel website – http://uktv.co.uk/food/recipe/aid/656486, and found exactly what I was looking for.    It seemed quite simple, and I had most of the ingredients, and those that I didn’t have I had appropriate substitutes.

Roasted Tomato and Garlic Soup

900g tomatoes – cut in half

2 bulbs garlic – top sliced off

1 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp. olive oil

4 sprigs thyme

1 large onion – sliced

2 sticks celery – chopped

1 carrot – thinly sliced

2 tbsp. tomato puree

1 lt vegetable stock

Preheat the oven to 200c.

Put tomatoes in a large roasting tin, with the garlic (I didn’t have whole garlic bulbs, so I used lazy garlic which I sprinkled over the tomatoes.)

Drizzle over with the balsamic vinegar and 1 tbsp. oil.    Season with salt and pepper and the thyme.

Roast for 45 minutes.

Heat the oil in a large pan and fry the onion, celery and carrot for 1 minute.      Add the tomato puree ( I didn’t have enough puree so I used a carton of passatta), and the stock and bring to a steady simmer.

Add the roasted tomatoes, and squeeze in the garlic cloves.   Don’t forget to scrape all of the juice from the pan!

Simmer for 25 minutes.

Liquidise until smooth – check the seasoning.

 

The colour of this soup is amazing, looking very much like #57!     The flavour though is what was most impressive.      Now, as you know soup is not my favourite, but my dislike of tomatoes as a fruit is beyond belief – I love them as ketchup but the real thing I just don’t get, you bite though plastic, into sponge and end with slime, what is nice about that?     I just think they go in with all the foods I dislike being a texture issue!     I did enjoy a little of this soup, and Old person has yummed it down!

How long my quest to find a soup I can really enjoy I do not know, but if I find another wonderful recipe I will certainly be sharing it!

The question though still remains as to if we eat or drink soup?

4 responses »

  1. I love soup, and especially tomato soup. In fact I eat tomato soup even though it almost always makees my tummy ill. So I’m saving this recipe to make on our next chilly, rainy spring day (we’ve been having a lot of those recently! -Amy

  2. My friend Jackie is the same, can’t stand the texture of soup. I am the opposite, I love it – If I am being honest, I don’t really enjoy chewing. I think it is something to do with a habit I have of holding my breath while a chew. I do also think it is odd how different tomatoes can be – cold and raw, or hot and rich.

Leave a Reply

