Family health update.

Standard

With so many lows in our family health recently with a vomiting bug that has wiped out half the town, and not just us, and coughs and colds, I thought it time for a quick update on our real health issues.

D is at last off his crutches.    It is amazing to think it is just 4 short weeks since his op, and he is already getting back to normal!

He walks like a little old man at the moment, and kind of rolls as he goes along with a very pronounced limp, but it is such an improvement.     He though thinks he can do all things he wants to do already and this includes running which have led to some near disastrous outcomes.   Luckily he hasn’t done any further damage to himself in that respect, but I think it is a loosing battle to expect him to slow down and think about what he is doing.    D has always been a two-speed person, dead slow or full pelt.   I don’t think there is any point trying to get him to think about what he is doing, as it just wont happen.    He has an appointment next week at the hospital with the surgeon, to check they are all ok.      Hopefully they will sign him off for a year, as they will have to check the angle of his legs once he has grown if they aren’t they will have to operate again to realign them by moving the plates.     It will be back in two years to have them removed – this D is already worried about, so there is nothing like forward planning your worry diary!

We did have a bit of an upset on one of his wounds this week.     His right knee has healed beautifully and there is already just a thin line where the cut was made, but the left one has been weeping.     The nurse at the surgery told us it was just seepage that isn’t uncommon after surgery.    We left it, but kept dressing it.    Then it started to bleed, so we bypassed the nurse and demanded to see a doctor.     He took one look at it, and prescribed antibiotics and sent us to the nurse – a different one to the one we had seen previously,  to have it dressed again!    She got her magnifying glass and has a good look at the hole in his knee and said it looked like one of the stitches hadn’t dissolved and had become infected!     Within 36 hours of taking the antibiotics, his wound is looking dry, so hopefully they will do the trick.      It just shows that is you can’t just accept what the professionals tell you the first time, and you need to keep asking until you get satisfaction!

So all is going well for D.

I was also back to the doctors last week.

My breathing was no different, and to be honest, I felt no better, despite having taken the tablets for a week.

There was good news though.    My ECG had been sent to the cardiology department, and they had said that it looked ok, as a stand along reading.      They did however think there needed to be investigation as to the changes since my last one.     I think this is positive news!   I will just wait for the letter regarding the heart scan.

The doctor is still very worried about my blood count, and wants to send me for more tests.     Her concern is that with a family history of bowel cancer it needs to be ruled out as a possibility.      I hadn’t even thought of this as being a possibility.    I will have to go and have a camera through my tubes to check nothing is going on down there that shouldn’t be.     Not something to look forward to but now she has put the thought of bowel cancer into my head, I need to get it ruled out!           She did though say that the fact I have polyps in my stomach, there is a possibility they are also further down my system, and it might just be one of them in bleeding.      I just feel happy she is investigating, as I have suffered with anemia for as long as I can remember – I had to give up donating blood because of it, and all that has ever been done in the past is put me on iron pills, my blood count then looks good, and so end of treatment.   Nobody has ever asked before why it keeps happening.       One thing she did comment on was that I don’t eat red meat – with the exception of bacon.     I have just never enjoyed it.       She is therefore wondering if it is just diet related!       This made me have an inward chuckle, as one of the first things you do when you go on a diet is try to reduce your fat in take, and this usually means cutting right down on red meat, and here a doctor is telling me that I don’t eat enough of it!       I actually think I should just go with the thought that chocolate contains irons, and live on that!!!!

I had to go to the dentist, as a tooth that keeping playing up was annoying me again.    He gave me some antibiotics  – I am going to be rattling soon.    I have to go back in a couple of weeks for root canal surgery – don’t I lead an exciting life!   Anyway, there has been a positive outcome of taking these antibiotics.    My breathing problems vanished within 48 hours of taking them, and the gagging feeling in my throat has gone!     Now, I am no doctor, just a logical person who is putting 2 and 2 together here.    Could these antibiotics for my teeth actually done something for my chest and throat?     Could I have been right all the times I have bothered my GP’s surgery since my op saying something isn’t right in my throat?      Would they ever admit that even if it was the case?      Who knows, and to be honest who cares?    My breathing is much improved – it doesn’t hurt anymore, and I don’t feel I’m gagging when I lay down!       I have an appointment with the doctor next week when I will present my evidence and I will be prepared for being told it’s a coincidence and the two things couldn’t possibly be connected!!!!

So, we are all heading in the right direction which is perfect with the holidays just over a week away!

Leave a Reply

