Fat-free Fruit Loaf

Standard

I’m told my post yesterday was a bit yucky, and so today I thought I would go for something a little bit nicer!

One of my New Years resolutions was to sort out my huge file of recipes I keep cutting out of magazines, and either make the food, or bin the piece of paper.     I haven’t got very far with this with everything that has gone on in the last couple of months.   I did however manage to pull the file down off the shelf, and knock some of the inch of dust off it!       I got myself some plastic pocket files, and labelled them with different categories of food, and made a start.     I think so far I have thrown out more than I have kept, wondering why I would have thought the recipe was something we would enjoy!

One recipe I did find that I decided to make straight away was for a Fat-Free Fruit Loaf.

I don’t like D to miss out on a treat, but we are having to watch what he does eat.   It is therefore important that the snacks and treats he has are as healthy as possible.   I think if I just banned sweets and cakes from the house he would just end up craving them and when he had a chance he would binge.   My way, means he doesn’t feel deprived and is eating a healthier alternative.

This cake is really easy to make, and I have now tried it in a few different ways.    The first time I followed the recipe as it was written, and then I started tweaking it!     I replaced the sugar with sweetener – I have been using the green canderel –http://www.canderel.co.uk/our-range/green , which is made with stevia, a plant-based sweetener, so have gone a step further to removing chemicals from the mix – many artificial sweeteners were making D have a very upset stomach, but this seems to not have that effect.      I also started making it as a loaf, then made it as a square cake, so it could be cut into bars, and then ended up doing it in muffin cases which are perfect for the lunch bags!

You will need –

1 teabag – I used bog standard but I guess a different variety would give a different flavour.

200g sultanas

100g dried apricots – chopped – my boys “don’t like” dried apricots, but once they are chopped they look just like golden sultanas and they are happy to eat them!

175g soft brown sugar – I used 17.5g of sweetener but check the comparative amount needed of the one you use.

2 eggs beaten

225g wholemeal plain flour –  I can’t always get the wholemeal, so I use white and add a handful of wheat germ

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp mixed spice – use more if you prefer a stronger flavour.

Soak the teabag in 300ml of boiling water for 5 minutes.     I differ from the original recipe at this point, by adding the sweetener and the spice to the tea, I think it gives the fruit a better flavour!        Add the fruit and give it all a good stir – just be careful not to burst the teabag!      Leave this at least a couple of hours so the fruit soaks up the flavours.   I do this the night before I’m going to make the recipe.

Remove the teabag, and add the eggs to the mixture.

In another bowl, mix the baking powder and flour.   Stir in the wet mixture.    It should be a sticky goop!

Poor the mixture into a prepared 2lb loaf tin, or divide equally between 12 muffin cases.

Bake at 180c for 45 minutes if a full loaf, or 25 minutes if making muffins.

Now, anyone that has seen my recipes before, know I don’t do dried fruit, but the boys and the Old person yum these up.      D thinks he is getting a treat, and M doesn’t realise it’s a healthy option.    It’s a win win for me!

I will continue to sort through my box of recipe clippings, and if I find anything else exciting, I will be sure to pass it on.   Because most of the recipes have been cut out, I am not sure of their origins, but if I know them I will let you know.

4 responses »

  1. Wow, I’ve never heard of using a tea bag in a recipe. This looks really delicious. I’ve not been able to do much baking lately because there are so few of us left at home AND because our daughter who’s still at home can hardly eat anything due to her gall bladder problem. Once she’s all healed up from her upcoming surgery I want to try this recipe. 🙂 -Amy

    • I hope her surgery goes well xxx
      The teabag adds a depth of flavour to the fruit. These do freeze well if you make a batch and arent going to use them all straight away!

Leave a Reply

