Raspberry and Apple Cakes.

Standard

With the new year well under way now and all of us deciding if we are going to change our lives in 2014, I find myself digging out my Rosemary Connelly recipe book.      Many of her recipes are fabulous, but a lot I find over faffy for the sake of it as she tries to add flavour to compensate the lower fat.       The idea with most of these recipes, and diet plans is, to reduce fat, as she says that is the evil more than sugar.    I have followed her diets before and lost weight but I have never been convinced to stick with it for too long.      I do however have a couple of her recipes that I use all the time, one of them being this cake.

I first made this cake when I was religiously following one of the diet plans,and the recipe sounds horrible, and when you’re making it, it doesn’t look much better, but the taste is amazing!     It was a really surprise.    Hubby likes them so much, that I batch make them and freeze them and he has them in his lunch bag every day.    He says he likes the chewy texture.    If it gets something healthy into him, then its worth it!      D likes it unless he gets a big lump of fruit so I do tend to over mix it and then he will eat it.    M loves them, but has no idea what he is eating!

Here is the recipe –

1 cup All Bran

1/2 cup milk

1 cup sugar

1 cup self raising flour

1 cup grated apple

1 cup raspberries

Soak the allbran in the milk for at least 2 hours.

Mix together all the ingredients apart from the berries.

Fold in the berries.

Pour into loaf tin and bake at 150c for 2 hours.

 

Now, I of course need to change things about.    I substitute the sugar for sweetener just check the one you use as to how much is the same equivalent to the amount of sugar.    There is no difference in the flavour and Hubby now he has read this will know what I’ve done!

I use frozen fruit, and that way,sometimes I use the mixed berries, sometimes, blackberries, or whatever they have.   It’s all about what flavours you like after all.    As I mix in the fruit earlier to break it down a bit,I normally throw it in the bowl with the soaking allbran and let the juice soak in as it defrosts.

I also make it in muffin cases rather than as a large cake.     It makes it easier for freezing and then packing in lunch bags.    Because I do this, I bake them at the same temperature but only for 1 hour 15 mins.

The texture is a cross between a muffin and a bread roll and  definitely odd to start with but once you get over that they are totally moreish,  and even better, people are eating something healthy without realising it!

Aberdeenshire-20140107-00328.jpg

4 responses »

    • If you do I hope you enjoy!
      It is a recipe from a Rosemary Connelly book, so must have been tried and tested several times, I just altered it to my tests which is why I posted the original then the alterations!
      Just remember it looks strange but its the taste that counts!

Leave a Reply

