Using the leftovers.

Standard

Like many households, it doesn’t matter how carefully I try to work out what everyone will eat at the Christmas feast, there is always enough food leftover to feed a small army.

I spent time on the afternoon of Christmas day playing fridge tetris to find homes for it all,rather than worry about it too much then.

I have said before that I hate wasting food, as most things can become another meal with just a little imagination.

The veggies quickly became soup. Old person would live on cuppa soup if I let her, so making soup from vegetables at least means she is getting some nutrients into herself. I do have a soup maker – http://www.gianiuk.co.uk/giani-brands/giani-electrical-essentials/item/201-17-litre-soup-maker/blender Its the second one I’ve had and is brilliant because it’s a normal liquidizer as well as a soup maker! It was definitely worth the money as you put everything in and let it do its stuff, no pans on the hob or having to get the blending stick to it.    It is also really easy to clean which is mega plus points from me!

The turkey was striped from its carcass and put in the freezer to make a pie in the new year. We used to always make turkey curry but I couldn’t be bothered!   Chicken pie is one of Ms favorite foods so I just won’t tell him its turkey when I do it!

The roast potatoes were chopped into wedges which we had with the gammon and eggs on boxing day.

So the only thing left to find a meal home for is the trimmings. What can you do with leftover sausages and bacon? I could just sit and eat them as I love them cold, or I could turn them into something for everyone else, and that is what I decided to do!

This was a recipe I adapted from yet another one to come from a friends of mine in the United States, and it is for Bacon muffins. The recipe given to me original used a cornbread muffin base, but as that isn’t overly popular over here, I changed it for a regular savoury muffin mix.

500g self-raising flour
300g cheese – choose one with a flavour you like
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 teaspoon mustard powder
6 rashers any bacon or the equivalent in leftover bacon and sausages
200ml natural yoghurt or left over cream
200ml milk
4 eggs.
Preheat oven to 200c.
Chop bacon.
Mix the ingredients, don’t overmix – lumpy is actually good for this recipe
Spoon into muffin cases.
Bake for 15 mins or until tops golden.
Serve warm as a snack lunch or they’re great with the soup made from the leftover veggies!

If you have fun ways of using up leftovers I would love to hear them!

4 responses »

  1. I still have one meal’s worth of turkey in the freezer from our US Thanksgiving dinner, and it’s planned for a pie this week, too. 🙂 We always have a ham at Christmas, and the last frozen container of ham will be made into ham and bean soup this week, as well. Cooking is SO much easier when the meat’s already been cooked and just needs to be defrosted and added to a few other good ingredients!

Leave a Reply

