A little luxury.

Standard

Our lives are so hectic at the best of time, but at this time of year, they just go ridiculous.

I think with a week and a half to go until Christmas, I am at the stage that if I am not organised, I don’t really care! Now, you know I don’t mean I don’t care, but I’m at saturation point with planning and organising. Most of the jobs left to do are things for much closer to the day. I just think if one more person asks me if I am ready for Christmas, I just might scream – VERY loudly!

It is therefore quite important we take the odd moment in between our headless chicken acts to think about ourselves. Now, this is an area of my life that I admit I do neglect, and therefore I have had my problems as a result. I decided this time last year, that every day, I was going to do something, just for me. Now, these somethings are nothing major, and definitely not revolutionary. The types of things I mean, are taking the time to put a bit of lippy on before the school run, saying to the kids I am having 5 minutes to solve the level of Candy crush I’ve been stuck on for 6 weeks – and then handing it to M who does it in 2 seconds, the most financially indulgent I probably have got is buying my dye to disguise the white highlights in my hair. They are all things for me! Just a moment every day to breathe and shut out the screaming and fighting, can stop me trying to join in with it.

There is of course, the biggest treat of all, and that is chocolate! Who doesn’t feel better after a piece of chocolate – Ok, I know there are some very strange people in the world who just don’t understand the medicinal qualities but they can’t possibly be anyone I know or would be capable of being friends with!

Earlier this week, I received an email asking if I would be interested in reviewing a product from the Christmas range from Hotel Chocolat – http://www.hotelchocolat.com/uk/shop  Now, who in their right minds is going to say no to something like this? I am already a huge fan of theirs, and it truly is an indulgent treat, so I was more than happy to take a look at the items available. This was the hardest thing though choosing what item to try!

The Festive Wreath looks amazing – http://www.hotelchocolat.com/uk/shop/christmas/the-festive-wreath-large, but im not a dried fruit person. I do however think it would be a fabulous gift to receive.

The Christmas Goodie Bag was really tempting – http://www.hotelchocolat.com/uk/shop/christmas/xmas-gifts/christmas-goody-bag The presentation just makes me think if I received that I would be totally made up – and hiding it immediately!

What I plumped for though was The Mingles and Jingles Bag – http://www.hotelchocolat.com/uk/shop/christmas/xmas-gifts/mingles-and-jingles-bag Now, the presentation might look a little plain compared to some of the other products, but the cloth sack contains a little touch of heaven all individually wrapped!

For those of you who haven’t tried Hotel Chocolat chocolate, you are really missing out on an important part of your life education. I always believed I didn’t like milk chocolate, because I find the common chocolate in this country, you know the one in the purple wrapper, is just too sweet for me, just one square, and I’m rushing for my tooth-brush! I therefore enjoyed plain chocolate growing up – luckily my Dad was a dark chocolate eater so I was able to get some! This though was in the days before dark chocolate became trendy, and you have to know the cocoa solid percentages, and getting just a bog standard bar wasn’t easy. Then, I discovered Hotel Chocolat, and as they say life was never the same again!

Their milk chocolate isn’t sweet, but it’s not bitter either. I can only describe it as – perfect! For those of you who do want to know about cocoa solids, its 40%. It is a perfect mid-point on the sweetness scale. I should go and swallow a thesaurus at this point to rave about it fully, but I think you are getting my drift!

In the bag there are three kinds of chocolate in individually wrapped Christmas shapes – a white chocolate bell with flecks of vanilla seed, a milk chocolate penguin, and a caramel chocolate angel. Each one is labelled with its contents or just dip in for a surprise.

I suppose one reason I chose this was its ability to share. Posh chocolates aren’t really child friendly, and while it is a treat for me, I am a Mum through and through so I’m always thinking of the ratbags first. When the box arrived, I opened it to see the sack inside. The boys instantly wanted it, and were grabbing, but I said, it was my chocolate so I had to try it first! I found one of each and took a bite before passing around! I know, mean aren’t I that I made them share a chocolate, but it is rich, and I wanted them to see they liked it before wasting them. All five of us were transported somewhere nice as we tasted.    If I can educate the boys on such an important aspect of life, my duty is done!

Hubby liked the white chocolate best. Old person who hates white chocolate even said it was so much better than the set condensed milk style white chocolate you usually get!

The boys loved the caramel best, and I’m not surprised as it was slightly sweeter.   It is solid chocolate with a caramel flavour.

For me though, it has to be the milk chocolate. Eat to slowly to enjoy each moment of it.    It is just a perfect chocolate.

The bag has been hidden from everyone! It is my stash. I will share, but definitely on my terms. These are not for the boys to wolf down without my say so, as these are for my ME moment.

If you haven’t tried Hotel Chocolat before, I would highly recommend them. They may be slightly more expensive than you’re bog standard chocolates, but the standard is in a different league all together.

I was asked to try this, and to blog about what I thought, but when it is a product you already love, then that really isn’t any hardship!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

