Ginger(ish) Snaps.

Standard

My finger is healing nicely, but it is still hurting like mad when it is touched, so I am still on light duties in the house.     The decorating is once again on hold, but I am determined to finish the dining room as soon as I can.       I can do the basic cleaning, and have today been able to strip the beds, but have you ever tried to put a duvet cover on with one hand?    I don’t think it is possible, so Hubby gets to do that fun job later!

One thing I can get on with though is doing some cooking.    When all else fails, bake!

M is a strange child – I know, I am stating the obvious.      He has never been an adventurous eater, and is not keen on strong flavours and yet has been addicted to ginger biscuits since he first stole one from Old Person.    By addicted, I mean, he could eat a dozen or more in one sitting if given the opportunity.       I therefore had them as a constant buy on my shopping list.     When ever we go to a certain Swedish furniture retailer, M makes a bee line for their food hall to get a box of their ginger snaps – and woe betide anyone who asks if they can have one!!!!

I therefore started looking around for recipes so I could make a healthier, and cheaper version for him, and everyone else.      I tried various ones, and ended up with different reactions, from them being too hard, too chewy, etc.      I hadn’t realised I lived with a variant of the three bears!    It was process that was continual trial and error until I found a recipe that appealed to everyone, and then tweaked it to make it even better!

To make approx. 32 biscuits, you will need :-

165g cubed butter – or lower fat alternative

200g caster sugar – or sugar substitute

1 egg

1 tab golden syrup

100g soft brown sugar – or sugar substitute

2 tsp ground ginger – adjust to taste

2 tsp ground cinnamon – adjust to taste

2 tsp bicarbonate of soda.

Preheat the oven to 180c.       Line at least 3 baking sheets – I use silicon liners and they always come off beautifully.

Cream together castor sugar and butter, until pale – at least 5 mins on the mixer.

Add the egg and syrup and beat well.

Add all the other ingredients and mix.

Place teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto the baking sheets at least 2 ” apart – the further apart they are the less likely they are to melt into each other but the strange shapes can be fun too!

Bake for 12 minutes – 10 if you like them chewier, but 15 if you prefer a crisper biscuit.

Leave to cool on the tray for 10 minutes before putting onto a cooling wire otherwise they will fall apart.

 

The recipe I adjusted to come up with this version, did say the biscuits would last up to a week in an airtight container, but I have never been able to find out if that right or not as I am lucky if they last the day!

I like these because I am not a huge fan of traditional ginger snaps as I find them too hard, where these are hard and chewy at the same time – difficult to explain, you’ll have to make some to see what I mean!

If you make them, I hope you enjoy them as much as my family does, let me know.

Leave a Reply

