Hear hear.

Standard

D likes it loud.    Very VERY loud!

If he is watching the telly, he has it so loud it is uncomfortable for everyone else.   His tablet is always at full blast too.     I think I spend half my life telling him to turn it down!

At the same time though certain sounds have him covering ears as if in pain.    It’s as if certain pitches of sound actually give him pain.   If there is a speaker, he will often put his hand on it and enjoy the sensory feeling of the sound.

I therefore decided it was worth getting the doctor to check his ears out just to make sure there was nothing more than the remnants of being unwell (but I didn’t buy this as it had been going on too long).      She checked his ears and said there looked clear other than a slight puckering of his left ear drum which was possible because of a recent infection.     She did agree to refer him for a hearing test though as it had been some time he’d been having this problem.

Today was the day of the appointment.     We had to go to the main hospital in the city which D was quite excited about as he loves all the toys there!    The only problem with that is it meant him having to have the full day off school.     It was a midday appointment so we had to leave here before 11am because even though it is only a  15 minutes drives, it can then take an age to find a parking space as there just isn’t enough room in the car park for the level of people using it, but that’s something anyone who ever uses the facilities there will moan about.     I probably could have sent him into school, but he would have been out again in an hour, so we decided it wasnt worth it.   It turned out to be the right decision as he was in a right state of worry from the moment he got up.    He kept flopping at me for cuddles as I was trying to get M ready for school, and then just glued himself to my side until we were ready to go.     The whole journey into town he was extremely quiet, just asking what would happen.      As expected we had to park at good 10 minute walk from where we had to be, so I was grateful for the extra time as D gave a new definition to how slowly you can dawdle.    He was very nervous, and sucking heavily on his teddy bear.

We got in with 15 minutes to spare before we were due to be seen.   I think he flitted between all the things available to play with as he was unable to settle  himself on one thing.

When his name was called he grabbed my hand really firmly and walked almost behind me as we were led through to the room.     After answer what seemed like a million questions about his hearing, he was finally acknowledged by the lady.       She was brilliant with him.   She explained everything she was going to do and made sure he understood before she did anything.     He looked petrified the whole time he was being tested, but did everything he was told.      She played him a series of sounds at different volumes and pitches and he got every one correct.     She said his hearing was perfect and that was nothing to worry about.     She looked in his ears and said his left ear drum was still slightly puckered but it was nothing to worry about.

As we came out, you could see his mood lift.     His facial colour reduced, and he became more lively.     He had been so good in there and I think he was rightly proud of himself.    As a treat for being so good, we went for lunch on the way home, as there was no point hurrying back to school as he would have maybe been back for less than an hour – I have warned him that his workload at school tomorrow will be heavier as he has work from today to catch up on, and he seemed slightly excited by this idea.    I have a strange son!!!!

So his hearing is clear, and we have nothing to worry about from that respect.    His sensitivity to sound and his love of volume can be written down to his aspergers, and that fine.     We understand so many things we can credit to his condition, but at the same time, I think we need to remove any chance that it may be something else.   We don’t want to get to the stage where we ignore symptoms because we believe it’s just because he has aspergers.    It would be so easy to say most things are to do with that but always wise to make sure its nothing that can be dealt with!

3 responses »

  1. Hi 🙂

    I just read this & had to comment 🙂
    I have Aspergers too (diagnosed last year). When I was growing up especially in my teens I always loved to turn up the music really loud, I’ve always loved loud music. In cars, houses & especially these old dubstep/ragga raves I used to go to purely just because I loved the loud music. But then there’s certain sounds I can’t handle like balloons popping, fireworks, those loud machines builders use, fire alarms etc. I wouldn’t worry too much I think we all can tolerate some sounds & get joy from some but others can be painful or plain annoying. Like the other day I was walking with my friend to the gym & some builders were doing some drilling stuff outside & I really didn’t want to put my fingers in my ears ashamed of what they would think but in the end I had to. It really hurt, but was ok to my friend.
    🙂

    • Thanks for that, its really interesting. I suppose I’m still trying to work out what has a reason in his Aspergers and what has its origins elsewhere, so its always interesting to hear that some of his behaviour is “normal”.

      • No worries 🙂
        See I can’t handle the TV loud at all, it really frustrates me.
        I think we are all different in our own ways but share some things at the same time.
        It’s all a learning process I suppose just got to love the beauty of the unique beautiful mind that comes with it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

