Endoscopy

Standard

Yesterday was another trip to the hospital for me.

I was having an endoscopy.     That is where they put a camera down into your stomach to see what is going on in there.

I never had any problems with my guts, despite all my eating problems, until the boys came along, or rather until I got pregnant.   I developed really bad reflux, and with both pregnancies was sick every day due to acid.      In fact the reason I knew I was pregnant with D was the acid vomiting started!     During my pregnancies I could only reduce the feeling of rising acid by sleeping on my left side, any other position and straight away, I felt it coming up.     After D was born, I was hoping the feeling would go away, but it didn’t, and even now, it’s the only way I can lay down in bed.

I put up with the problem for a while after D was born, thinking it would right itself, but was getting up every night to be sick, and was then getting pains in my chest, which I thought were as a result of straining muscles whilst vomiting.       I eventually went to my GP, who prescribed some tablets to reduce the acid, but sent me to the hospital for an endoscopy, just to find out if there was anything wrong inside.

It is a horrible procedure, but is over with quickly, and your mild ok, major discomfort for a few minutes, is soon forgotten.      The result was I had a hiatus hernia.     Nothing to do about it, but live with it, and keep taking the tablets.

The pains in my chest got worse though, and one Saturday morning, I was in so much pain that Hubby called the out of hours doctors service, who called an ambulance because of the description of the chest pains.     I had a motorcycle paramedic turn up, and he decided I wasn’t having a heart attack, but when the proper ambulance arrived they decided to take me in to the hospital.    After hours on a hospital trolley, I was diagnosed with a problem with my gall bladder, and I was admitted.        They said it needed taking out, but while it was inflamed they couldn’t do it, because of the risk of further infection.      I was released with plenty of pain killers and anti-sickness pills.

I had a letter for the appointment to get it removed, and was admitted to the ward, before they decided I was too fat to have it done.   I was 1lb over their limit!   I was sent away.    If they had told me I had to be under a certain weight, I would have lost that!

I eventually got another appointment, and had it removed.      I was in pain for a while, from the op, but it was lovely not to have the chest pains and being up all night being sick!

I still had the acid reflux though, but basically was told to live with it.

Eventually it started getting bad again, and so I went back to my GP, who uped the dose of my pills, and referred me for another endoscopy.

Well, yesterday was that appointment.

I had to explain all the things I had been through recently about my blood pressure, as of course it was raised, but other than that the initial paperwork went no problem.

I saw the doctor only an hour after the time of my appointment!    He talked me through all the things that might go wrong – so reassuring, and then it was time.     Three quick sprays of vile tasting stuff in your throat, and then they start to push the tube down.    Instant reflex is to gag, and however much they tell you to relax it is difficult.     The whole time it was going down I was trying to throw up!     They then pump air into you to get a better look, and you start belching – so lady like!

Then fear strikes as they say they are taking a biopsy.       But you can’t really panic with a tube down your throat, there isn’t enough breathing room for that!

Eventually it is removed, and you gag, choke, and cry all at the same time.   The nurses reassure you, you’ve been brilliant as they pass you copious amounts of tissues.

The doctor then explained he had taken biopsies of polyps.      The word biopsy, I think is one that makes you fear the worst, but he explains they are common in people with gastric problems as the irritation of the lining of the stomach has been messed about.     He says it is most uncommon for them to be anything more than just there, but its better to know, hence the biopsy.

I was happy to get out of there, and left, still belching!

Like any normal person, when I got home, I looked up what it actually was, and am somewhat reassured there is nothing too wrong with me.     I will have to wait a couple of weeks for the results, and in the meantime, the doctor did suggest I ask my GP to prescribe an additional drug for the reflux.

It’s not a fun procedure, but one that if it can reassure was worth the short-lived discomfort, and the fact I had to fast before meant it was really good for the diet!

Today, I still feel bloated, and my throat is sore, but both of those will pass, and I will live to fight another day!

5 responses »

  1. Yuck! Both my daughter and a young friend of ours have been going through similar nasty experiences recently – mine with gall bladder issues and two weird tests, and our friend with unexplained constant nausea that required endoscopy. No fun at all! Any period of your life when you have to think about doctor appointments and tests is a major low point. Hope you get some relief soon! -Amy

Leave a Reply

